Haener revealed on Great 8 List

Haener is now officially added to the Midseason Watch List and becomes eligible for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

FORT WORTH, Texas - Fresno State senior quarterback Jake Haener has been named as one of eight quarterbacks named to the Davey O'Brien Great 8 list for his play during week three of the college football season.

Haener is joined by Holton Ahlers (East Carolina), Sean Clifford (Penn State), Matt Corral (Ole Miss), Sam Howell (North Carolina), Tanner Mordecai (SMU), Payton Thorne (Michigan State), and Malik Willis (Liberty).

Any player named to a Great 8 list during the season who was not previously named to the Davey O'Brien Award's Preseason Watch List is officially added to the Midseason Watch List and becomes eligible for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award. Following this week's additions of Haener, Ahlers, Clifford and Thorne, the list is now up to 46 quarterbacks from around the country.

Haener is the first quarterback to be added to the Davey O'Brien watch list since Marcus McMaryion in 2018. That season, McMaryion was a semifinalist for the award. Prior to McMaryion, both David Carr (2001) and Derek Carr (2013) were semifinalists. Kevin Sweeney finished as the runner-up for the 1986 Davey O'Brien Award.

The Davey O'Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O'Brien Foundation has given away more than $1.2 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

In 1938, O'Brien, who wore No. 8 as a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content